The tide is high

This was the sight that greeted me as I arrived to work this morning.

A tap in the decontamination room has broken and has been running all night, overflowed and flooded not only decon, but the adjacent 4 surgeries and the corridor!!!! (Pictured)

There was nothing we could do except close the Practice, hire in an industrial vacuum and try to mop up. The clinicians (myself included) all went home, as there was no way we could have patients wading through water though for some it might have been the only wash their feet get all year, but you should have heard the complaints from some when they were called to have their appointments rearranged!

I was in a difficult predicament as I have 2 patients I must see this week, but today was my only day working there.
Luckily, my boss at another Practice (handily, just up the road) has agreed for me to see my patients there on Thursday.
It wasn't easy trying to sort that out; I ended up 'working' from home, trying to phone my patients to co-ordinate appointment times & directions.

I then had to go back to work to collect the stuff I need for treatment I'm doing, and also let the manager there know I'd sorted things out from my end. That was one less thing to worry about for her!

The clean up operation was well underway, the girls were working like troopers to clear the water. It's going to be a hard task though as the water has seeped under the units, dental chairs and skirting, so as fast as they are mopping, it's oozing back out again.
Whether this will affect the electrics for the chair remains to be seen, I think an engineer is coming to assess the situation.

I've made a 'note to self' to avoid decon in future. So far we've had a plague of flies, a fire and now a flood in there. From a biblical point of view that only leaves one more thing......! :-0

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.