SPIDER'S NEST

For the last two weeks we have had to contend with spiders in the art room with much shrieking from the children. I calmed them down and showed them how to capture a spider by placing a glass over it, sliding a piece of paper over the opening and then releasing it in the garden.
No sooner had we settled down when an enormous spider appeared on the ceiling in the far corner of the room. Now I had to be very persuasive and convince the children that the spider was more frightened of them than they were of it! It was far too big for any container in the art room and there was no way that I could reach it, so we did our best to ignore it.
I consulted one of our authorities on nature this morning and armed with a feather duster and a large transparent container we returned to the art room. No spiders to be seen! I looked everywhere! Then I looked up to the ceiling and saw that the skirting was loose in the opposite corner. We concluded that the spiders may be breeding there and Sue said that it was probably a rain spider......to be continued next week.
(the photo is of a spider's nest in our garden)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.