Cygnus

By Cygnus

Opening day

I went out for a womble around the garden this morning, ostensibly to take some photos for a blip, but my main motivation was actually to scare off two monster magpies who were lurking rather too closely around a wee chaffinch nest.

Did you know that magpies are infamous pillagers? I was shocked to find this out. I used to think they were really lovely, with their smart back-and-white coats and cocky walk, but then discovered that they can make their way along a hedge killing all the other birds and their chicks! Worse than thuggish behaviour!

So the magpies flew off as soon as I appeared, although they proceeded to tell me off in a loud and raucous fashion. Readers, I ignored them.

I did get the chance to photo some flowers, though, and discovered that a poppy is about to appear! I know the focus isn't quite right, but I will try to get out again to take a photo once it has fully unfurled. I'm blipping early today as it's going to be a busy Saturday - I've things to post, a wedding to see, food to hunt and then out for dinner with chums. Quite the social butterfly. Happy Saturday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.