jillington

By jillington

Memorial Day

Tomorrow is Memorial Day in the US, a day which, for the most part, has lost much of its meaning. It creates the first long weekend of the Summer and, in a way, kicks Summer off. Lots of events nationwide this weekend and many house parties all around. I was pleasantly surprised at our little cemetery today, prettily decorated for the holiday. I walked all around, left a rock at the grave that I have adopted and stopped to take this photo so you can see how the veterans are honored for this holiday.

One of the local vet groups (most likely the VFW-Veterans of Foreign Wars) visits every cemetery in its surrounding area and places a flag at each veteran's grave. What I especially like about it is most of the volunteers make it a point to say each name aloud as they place the flag because if the name is spoken, the person is not forgotten. I love that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.