stujphoto

By stujphoto

Istanbul Museum of Archeology

Yesterday we travelling down from Istanbul to Alacati which is on a peninsula south of Izmir. As we weren't flying until late afternoon we popped down to the Archeological Musem in Instanbul in the morning. Well worth a visit and entry is very cheap. I was most impressed by the sheer beauty of the Tile Museum but have chosen to show you a blip from one of the sarcophagi in the Main Museum as I thought the ladies on the end looked very graceful.

Our journey was somewhat tiring as we travelled to the airport by tram and metro and arrived at the airport with four hours to spare and then our flight was delayed. We also had to wait around for our transport to the hotel as our travel company had failed to tell them that we were travelling from Instanbul and they were waiting for us at the International Terminal. That was eventually sorted and we had about an hours journey on a deserted motorway to Alacati. Our hotel, Ben Evi is nice boutique hotel in the old part of Alicati, cobbled streets etc, even gets a mention, in Conde Naste. It's a bit off the eaten track tourist wise and tends to cater for the Instanbul nouveau riche at the weekends so we surprised when we went out for a meal to find they no-one spoke any English at the restaurant we choose, so they took us to the counter to choose our memes. We will obviously have to dip into a Turkish phrase book to survive.

One final catastrophe, I left my kindle in the pocket of my seat on the plane so am bereft of reading until I download my books onto my iPad, so I am reading one of my wife's paperbacks meantime

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.