Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

Big decision!

Today I ventured out to go camera hunting. Most exciting!

Having read lots of reviews I have a fairly good idea of what I want - pocket sized, lots of megapixels, high zoom, high ISO, manual options and loads of image stabilization (I've got very shaky hands!).
Oh, and for around £200....

Thats not much to ask for is it?!! LOL

I looked at the Canon IXUS 200IS (not much in the way of manual control) and the Powershot SX200IS (too heavy and doesn't review as well as the Panasonic TZ range for a similar price), both the Fujifilm Finepix F70 EXR and the Nikon Coolpix S640 look great but review as more 'family friendly' which I think means pretty much automatic.

I really liked the idea of the Panasonic Lumix LX3 because of all the manual controls to play with (and because, despite the way I talk about it, I am serious about photography and learning more so I definitely want more than a point and shoot - possibly a stepping stone to a DSLR sometime in the future...) but it is a little out of my price range and it has a v short zoom.

Its a big decision buying a new camera!
What if we aren't compatible? What if we are looking for different things?!

So I've decided, tentatively, to go for the Lumix TZ6. (in silver, naturally, to be difficult ;)
I've seen this one online for a really good price - but is it wise to buy online or should I pay a bit more and get it on the high street?
Decisions, decisions...

Opinions warmly welcomed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.