Life with Gaia

By happyyoga

Too cold lizard

It's the coldest it has been in over twenty years. It isn't much for a lot of places, just the low 30s or so, but too cold for the plants that are used to much warmer weather. And while most of the lizards made it to wherever they go to when it isn't in the 70s, I spotted this guy frozen to the wall of our house. I (gently) pried him off the wall, and held him in the sun until he started to come to. He did not want to leave my hand, and it was already starting to get cold again, so I have brought him inside for the night. I just hope this does not totally freak him out, being in a box and all that. It should be warm enough to take him out in the mid-morning I hope I have put the right things in the box with him, etc. I have no idea what they eat besides live bugs, and I just don't seem to have one of those handy. (besides, I couldn't do it) Here's hoping he is still with us in the a.m. and I made the right choice. Pretty sure I did as he was a gonner the other way it would seem. But, I really have no idea.


Crystal and Micah are heading back to SF tonight after enjoying Christmas in North Carolina with Micah's family


Edit: The little guy was just fine in the morning and by afternoon it had warmed up to 62 so I took him out in the sun and he warmed up a bit more. Then, when he was startled, he jumped in the pool and totally freaked out at the cold, but I managed to scoop him out and warm him up again, and later he was out and about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.