Resistance was futile

On Tuesday I admitted to a slight Agatha Christie habit

any way during the sorting I was thinking about how it happened

So in 1980 my friend Julie who was a nurse in London issued a challenge - we would read our way through Agatha Christie -

To randomise the order she would borrow her friend's (illustrated!) Heron editions as they arrived (monthly?) I was to acquire them second hand from markets around the West Midlands

I think I may still have the challenge list in Julie's own handwriting somewhere

Meantime on Tuesday night in an eBay charity shop I found 34 of the Heron set for a decent price (p&p included) - well the Borg made me do it

and to make it perfect - every book came wrapped in tissue paper - it was like Christmas

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.