2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Negative split

For the benefit of those who don't already know, a negative split is when a person completes the second half of a race faster than they completed the first half.

For the first time ever I accomplished a negative split in the race I completed.

There were so many positives today.

It is the furthest I have run this year.
I felt comfortable and strong all the way round.

I had hoped (the key being hope not expectation) to run 90 minutes for the 10 mile distance.

I knew I had to be sensible and not go off too fast to have any chance.

At half way I had 44:45 on my watch.
I'll take that I thought but could I gang on?

In the 6th mile I sped up. I kept going and kept working 1 mile at a time, all at 8 minute 30 pace.

The final outcome was a time (unofficial at the time of writing) of 87:33. There may be some seconds to add or remove in the official results. But I'm very pleased with my efforts today.

Before the race we all gave a collective #thumbsupforstephen.

Have a great Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.