melaniecameron

By melaniecameron

Monday the 2nd of June 2014

'The Lilacs are in Bloom'

As I entered the Glasgow Botanics today from the side gate I smelt a lovely smell and looking to see what the sign on the tree was it said it was Syringa. Which is more commonly known as Lilac. Not all lilacs are lilac in colour as this one is white.

A couple of years ago I was told about the mythology behind Syringa

As from Teleflora's. Webpag
"The story of lilac, according to Greek mythology, begins with a beautiful nymph named Syringa (lilac’s botanical name). Captivated by her beauty, Pan, the god of the forests and fields, chased Syringa through the forest. Frightened by Pan’s affections, Syringa escaped him by turning herself into an aromatic bush – the flower we now refer to as lilac. "

Pan sounds a bit dodgy too me and if that was today he'd hopefully get arrested for stalking and intimidation and goodness knows what else if Syringa hadn't been helped by others and turned in to a flowering plant.

Depending on what link you look up it says Pan was only chased after her to try and calm her down. - yeah right he would say that wouldn't he? I'm sure a fair few courts have heard that excuse! Anyway its a beautiful flower and the reason someone told me the story was that I kept on getting the same message from my gypsy cards "When the Lilacs bloom" as to something significant and benevolent would happen in my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.