Go!

Bumped into some pigeon fanciers on the Cooriedog walk. And I'm still wondering why folks who race pigeons are called fanciers. I've bumped into them before and the release of the pigeons gave me a blip. I asked if they would mind if I took some photos. No problem.

While I waited, they brought me up to date with the pigeon world. It is not good. Lots of losses this season. Peregrine falcons were the suggested culprit. And not a lot of young people are becoming fanciers so there are worries about the future.

Time for them to go. Last time I stood directly in the flight path of 100s of pigeons as they were released. This time I stood to the side and took lots of shots of blurry pigeons. But I felt safe.

They pigeons grouped together and went round and round and seemed to be headed in the opposite direction to their destination. There was chat about the impact of the weather. Eventually, off most of them went off in the right direction. Though three or four formed their own group and set off independently - I feared for them.

I liked the group shot best. You probably need to go large.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.