Lakelandgirl

By Lakelandonoff

Back in time

Back across the Pennines on the Hartside Rd. Just after leaving Haydon Bridge I noticed these road signs. If you know the road and it's steep descent into the village of Whitefield with hair pin bends you would be sceptical about coming across such vehicles. Soon after Whitefield I came across some old Gyspy caravans being pulled by horses. I passed several more and thought they must be going to turn off south at Alston but NO. Up across the moors they went and down the tricky Hartside with all it's twists and turns. Hartside is one of the highest passes in England. Often closed in winter and a not an easy drive in a car. Once into Melmerby the village green was lined with old wooden caravans on one side and flashy modern ones on the other. I guess they were all on their way to the Appleby horse fair. I would have loved to have blipped the old caravans but the road was just not safe to stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.