Staying positive

I have a confession to make. I didn't tell you something. I thought it would be ok.

I went for a run on Sunday, then afterwards I wore flip flops all day. I think this may have been a mistake. The bridge of my left foot started to hurt about 5pm that day. It's not the location of any of my previous injuries, so I didn't think much of it, until it started getting worse. By the time I was on my way home after the conference last night, I could barely walk.

So I had a night of RICE last night (Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation) coupled with ibuprofen. Today I cycled to work so I didn't have to walk. Tonight my foot is a bit better - there's no excruciating pain, but it's still swollen and walking is best kept to a minimum. So I'm resting it.

I don't think flat shoes of any kind are an option for me anymore. Which of course is troubling news because heels also hurt me, just in less of a structural way. I refuse to believe it's the running; it simply can't be.

I'm getting quite down about it all now. I'm trying to stay positive, but it's so frustrating. My recovery goal half marathon on 29 June seems to be slipping further and further away.

I ordered this wee canvas a couple of weeks ago. I'd seen this saying on a friend's Facebook page and really liked it. I thought I needed the inspiration; a wee reminder that I'm a fighter. It arrived today, at exactly the right time I would say. It's now on my bedroom wall.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.