olib

By olib

The next generation

Three weeks ago, I was removing ivy from a wall in the Linda Vista Gardens, and uncovered a gap in the wall where there was a nest, with four eggs in it. I thought that would be the end of them, because we'd been there stripping this ivy off for about an hour, and - well, I don't know how long eggs can be left unwarmed, but that coupled with them being suddenly exposed to the world, I thought would mean they would never hatch.

But I went back the next day, and found a male robin sitting on them, and checked on them a couple of times since, again with a rather annoyed robin there, and all seemed well. Today. I was weeding in one of the beds in the gardens, and when I went to dump the weedings - for the nest is in the wall by the composting area in the gardens - I saw this. It is at least two robin chicks. I could see them breathing, but it was hard to tell how many there were, and I didn't like to linger long or get too close, because a parent was scowling at me nearby.

Anyway, a good outcome. I reckon that some four foot up in the wall, they're fairly safe from predators even though they are exposed, and so far it looks like that's so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.