Cemetery

I finished work early today so that I could take Abi up to Ambleside to see 'Postman Pat'. In the end, Milly and her boyfriend decided to come, too, and we made rather an odd troop amongst the mothers and small children who'd also come to see the film.

I must say that I was rather looking forward to it as the voice artists included Jim Broadbent (JIM BROADBENT!), David Tennant and Stephen Mangan. However, it turned out to be the strangest film I'd seen in a long time. Some outrageous racism, which was only masked by the fact that it was aimed at the Irish (which does not excuse it); some sexism ("you know what women are like"); and a story line which was really quite unnerving, especially if you happened to be a small child. At one point I heard a small voice from behind me plaintively ask "What's wrong with Pat?"

That said, there were some very good jokes in it, including references to 'Terminator' (bit scary for the younger children) and '2001: A Space Odyssey', but even those were undermined by an odd lecture at the end about the perils of technology.

I did take a couple of photos of the lovely cinema (Zeffirelli's) but in the end I preferred this shot of the cemetery taken from the steps on the way in. The beauty of cemeteries is only skin deep but I do like them. (I remember my friend Martin Sanders did all of his A level revision in a cemetery.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.