Flaming June......

.......arrived at last today!
When I lived in the Highlands ,I always reckonned summer would start on the second week of June! But his year it has come a day early and this June 6 th has been glorious with wall to wall sunshine ,and I have spent a lovely day working in my garden!
With legions of buzzing bees busy at the flowers that are bursting forth in the heat, I can think of no better place to be!

But not all June 6th days have been so idyllic!
70 years ago ,thousands of young men and women had an entirely different day, and many of them lost the chance to grow old and enjoy a summers day amongst the flowers and bees!
And made a sacrifice so that in some roundabout way I might sit in the sun and enjoy my garden!
The debt I owe them is enormous!
I looked about in my garden and wondered how I could pay tribute to these brave people ....no matter that it be tiny!
I thought of several flowers ,but then this butterfly caught my eye!
No warmonger would be able to use such a delicate creature on his standard!!
So I dedicate this lovely butterfly to their memory!
God bless them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.