SpeckledCoast

By SpeckledCoast

At Home on the Western Rocks

A trip towards Bishops Rock Lighthouse took us to the Western Rocks to view some of the wildlife there. It was too rough to sail all the way to the lighthouse but I was quite relieved when I learned the trip would be limited to visiting these rocks and the firmer ground of St Agnes.

The sea was choppy and it wasn't easy to stand up in the boat, let alone capture anything much in and around the sea so I just pointed the lens in the line of vision that others were using; a strategy that paid off as when I reviewed the day's work, I found to my delight that I'd captured a number of worthwhile images ranging from cormorants, guillemots and several seals swimming in the sea around the rocks.

This one is a grey seal, one of the rarer of the world's seal species.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.