Writer's Block

By writersblock

A Birthday Miracle!

I felt so sure that I'd never see Bear again. Last night I even shed some tears over the loss - I was definitely feeling emotional not only about the fact that my cat had been missing for a week but that I was turning 30 the following day. I told R that the only thing I wanted for my birthday was for Bear to come back!

The morning of my birthday I was in the kitchen washing my tea kettle when I turned to see Bear walk through the open front door! I was stunned! She was unharmed but she definitely had a catitude. She didn't want to be touched. She immediately went upstairs and curled up in a ball on the bed where she slept for hours.

Later in the afternoon, I was driving to lunch with my mom when I got a call from a neighbor. He said he had seen the flyers I had posted and wanted me to know that he regularly sees Bear in his backyard. And most interestingly of all, he said that one of his neighbors has taken to feeding her!

I'm sort of miffed by the fact that someone is basically committing cat-adultry with MY cat. I would never feed a neighborhood cat, especially one with a collar for goodness sake!

But at any rate, I'm just really really relieved that Bear is home and healthy. Definitely a birthday miracle!! And next time we go out of town she's going to the boarding house for sure!

The rest of my birthday was really good. R brought me home red roses and then we went out to dinner at one of my favorite local resturants.

I can't believe that not only is Bear back but that I'm in my 30s now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.