bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

Student days ....RIP Rik Mayall.

Was shocked and sad to hear of Rik Mayall's death today at only 56.
Ironically, I had been joking with an old colleague of mine via email at work today. He is 56 and I am 53. He grew up in Birkenhead and I in Liverpool. He now lives and works in London doing a national role, which I sometimes get involved with from Manchester. I read an email that he had sent out nationally across the NHS and he was on one of his passionate but intelligent rants and quoting Jarvis Cocker and John Cooper Clarke to annoy the establishment! I sent one back privately saying it was the best thing I'd read in the 300 stacked emails on my return to work and I hope he never gets off his soapbox and keeps up the good fight. He sent one by return saying " you are too kind to an old punk....mind you I remember that you wore a black plastic bin bag mini skirt to get into Erics " Lol...
Those days were both very funny and very tough....but one of the enduring memories of being a student was a gang of us crowding around a shared black and white telly every week to watch this new phenonomen, The Young Ones....and the comic genius of Rik Mayall and Adrian Edmonson. I have very few photos of those times ...a few very drunken ones that are too blurred, one of me hanging upside down on a monkey ladder so that my skirt is showing my knickers....and this quite bizarre staged one of my graduation...very posed in a hired gown and looking like I'd been superimposed on top of an oil painting!! But preferable to the others. So heres a very old selfie in honour of a man who frequently made me laugh from my stomach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.