Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Sprung.....

by Lyn and Des!!

Manual Settings Challenge: Day 10

I went out on a mission this afternoon to Blip an old Queenslander! As I was driving around the old part of Bundaberg looking, looking, looking, I nearly fell out of the car when I saw this magnificent old homestead.

Generally Queenslanders are two stories high to allow good ventilation during the sweltering summer months. This wonderful home is single story but has obviously been lovingly restored by it's owners.

Now, talking about the owners. I'm sure this has happened to many a committed Blipper. As I was standing outside the front fence taking my photos the owners drove out of the driveway in their truck! Of course they did, I could have bet my house I would get sprung. It turns out that Lyn and Des were really lovely people and only too happy for me to click away.

It turns out the house is the original old farmhouse and was originally part of a very large land holding. They had been able to restore it over time and were fortunate to be able to salvage some of the old wrought iron work when the Old Mater Hospital was being rebuilt. I told them they had every right to be proud of their efforts, I also told them that very soon they could be world famous if they would kindly agree to me publishing a photo of the house as my Blip for the day. Lucky for me they were more than happy to agree.

Isn't it amazing the people you meet in this Blip Business!!

Unfortunately I did get a bit of flare from the sun as it really wasn't the best time of the day to photograph the home, morning would be much more satisfactory. But honestly it was just so beautiful I couldn't help myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.