Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Un Escargot de Course

Un Escargot de Course

A photograph taken today to continue my experiments with file size, compression, and Exif information.

As I explained more briefly in my Tweet, I normally pass my raw photographs through a number of enhancement procedures, ranging from simple straightening and cropping, through contrast and brightness enhancement, to a rather sophisticated method of correcting pixel scatter.

I have now examined the output files at various stages and from various image-processing programs, using a hex editor to look at the code itself. Some of the programs remove the Exif headers, while some do not. It's going to be a nuisance if Blipfoto query all photographs where the Exif header is missing.

For the record, this image is 3264 x 2448 px, JPEG compressed at 10%, final file size 1821 kB.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.