misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

9 June -- Arrival at The Wills Eye Center

Typical Philadelphia tourist photo. Just to let you know that I arrived at the oldest eye hospital in the U.S. and probably North America.
Ellen, my very old and dear friend came as my caregiver/brain. I wanted a second opinion about the newly discovered cancer of the right iris. The old tumour is dead. Yet the shock of hearing and seeing this new beast trailing out and around the edge of the iris was nearly more than I could take. Ellen would not let me run back home, no matter what.
We stayed in a marvelous facility (great showers) outside of Philadelphia owned by the American Cancer Society. There is no cost for a cancer patient or her caregiver. It was raining when we arrived so I did not go out to take photos of the beautiful grounds and park.
Instead, here you get to see is the old sign out in front of the 11 storey building right in the center of Philly. I have not been in a city with loads of traffic for a very long time.
And so, in we went... but stopping just inside the door at the coffee stand first.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.