Keith B

By keibr

At home - Good food, questionable food, & compost!

A strange day today as I never left the house, not even stepping out of the door once. There was no special reason for this and a few factors combined to it being so…
The weather was not brilliant; it was cloudy, and raining now and again so there was no incentive there.
I was planning to go to work as usual but working hard (at home) on various Moodle (our learning platform) related problems I realised I was getting a lot more done here than I would if I actually went to work!
Janet was also at home today and it’s fun to work away on opposite sides of the table.
The joys of the mobile phone and e-post – if anyone needed to contact me the phone was next to me and the e-mail got looked at every half-hour.
My nearest colleagues work on different campuses to me so our contact is nearly always distance contact. Home or office, no changes there.
The students have all gone home now so there is less unplanned activity at work.
I’ve just been working away for two days and tomorrow I’m away in Sundsvall meeting half my colleagues in person and the other half via adobe Connect, so it felt like a day not jumping into the car was a good idea for my own sake, not to mention the environment.

So why is there a photo of stacks of food? Jan decided to clear out the larder and everything in the larder takes up a lot more space when you take it out. Since it’s a while since we did this there was a pile of stuff at the back that was out of date. The worst culprit was seven years out of date!! So a fair bit of the stuff never went back to the cupboard. Instead it awaits testing (I never believe those dates matter unless it looks/tastes/smells bad and so far so good. – Of course I realise the irony of this “famous last words” statement if get really ill in the next few days!!
If it really is inedible the compost bin awaits. I’ve yet to find a foodstuff that is inedible for those worms and microbes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.