Scenes from my desk

By alaistairsdesk

New technology toys!

Well a nice delivery in the post this morning.

A few new technology toys.

A couple of "NFC" enabled phones, NFC reader and some RFID tags. This is all part of looking into the next generation of contactless device communication.

The phone can "Read" data from any of the tags - and launch applications, send messages, phone numbers etc. The idea is that these tags are built into things (eg posters, magazines etc.), and simply touching your phone will retreive the data.

It also makes for almost seemless sharing of data. If I've just taken a photo with one phone, I just hold it next to the other phone (about 1 cm) and the photo just "copies over" like magic - no clunky bluetooth connection searching etc.

So I had a quick play this evening...got the phones going with my "bucket 'o demo SIM cards" (I probably have a few PAYG SIMS from all the networks.). Then hooked up the reader to the PC (so I could read all the tags).

Not yet got to writing data to the tags...I might even have to resort to reading the manual!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.