neilnewson

By neilnewson

Sewer Outlet Extends

Stayed on in Dartford to meet a friend after the academy closed up and to fill the time I went walked with purpose to explore the riverfront out past Long Reach power station where there appeared (on google maps) to be a walkway through to the waterfront. And I was right.

The long straight pathway was a joy to see (even if I was buzzed by young motorcyclists en-route) after struggling to find a way through the mass of sub-stations and industrial works that crowd the waterfront here. As the grasses and shrubbery grew higher I passed under pilons and over brooks until it seemed the bank of the waterfront was inaccessible and I turned to find an overgrown pathway that I didn't fancy venturing though even with my mild hay fever. A quick scout and I found the route through over a larger metal bridged brook and to the bank of the river raised a good 20ft above water level.

Although this section was mowed I could see a wilder section of bank to my right that appeared to lead back on itself just in front of the sewage works. With time on my hand I thought i'd at least see how close I could get to Long Reach and headed for the fr end of the grassy bank.

As I got closer it became apparent that the pathway continued on along the waterfront directly in front of the sewage works. I didn't need any more invitation to explore.

Not only did the path continue along the water but, growing slightly narrower and more overgrown picked its way past barb-sealed piers and warning-signed gates right past the back of the power station. Here I thought id reached the end but happily there was a slim metal arch between boulders (obviously put to stop cyclists) that allowed walkers to continue along.

Having found my feet in this new half-urban half-country landscape I took heed of the signs and continued on. At this pint I began to wonder if there would be a way back through to the road at all - should I continue on and hope there's a way through or should I take the hit and turn back and retrace the 40mins I have walked to get this far. Just then a family cycled passed me and gave me fresh hope that the path must continue despite the increasing height of the grass and of the narrowing way through. As they disappeared on I realised that they were the first people I had seen in about half an hour and, coupled with the blazing sun, despite the hum of the M25 on the bridge (very close now) and some minor activity on the river there was surprisingly little activity on the banks here making the whole experience feel like a very sic-fi dystopia and I am now finding myself directly underneath the towering legs of the QEII bridge and I know there must be a way through back to the academy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.