Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

COULD YOU BEE MORE SPECIFIC?

I was trying for a head on image, but I am going to have to take lessons from weeflecky - bees just show me their bums.

Cut down the to-do list still further this morning, sorting out a lot of work glitches and tedious tasks, so I felt I could enjoy the long leisurely lunch and walk with a pal. Had a stroll round the garden at dusk. It's blink-and-you'll-miss with blooms at the moment.

Someone asked me the name of this plant recently and then said, 'But is that not a weed?' For me a weed is just a plant growing where you don't want it to grow, which is a questionable attitude anyway. This one (Geranium pratense or Meadow Cranesbill) just blew into my garden and I welcomed it, not just for its brilliant colour and joyous abandon, but for its bee magnet properties. Our large central bed is almost all self seeded - day lilies, iris, bluebells, ferns, bistort, aquilegia, polonium, hypericum, and I could go on...but you are dropping off now, aren't you? But just before you go, isn't it interesting that many of our most offending 'weeds' are only so deadly because of our intervention, Japanese knotweed for example. I fight a constant battle with it encroaching from a neighbour's garden. If we had left it in Japan where it has a natural predator - all would be well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.