Back in 5. Or tomorrow.

By mly

Water leak

Even though most of the water is frozen this winter, today it managed to flood the storage in the basement of our apartment building, and of course it was in the area where our storage space is.

When I came home I happened upon the lady who at that very moment discovered there was a leak, and no wonder she discovered it either - it sounded like a waterfall had moved into the basement! We immediately called the necessary people, then waited for their arrival. While waiting I ran up the stairs to our apartment to get my wellies to see if I could salvage anything of ours. I went downstairs and took a step down into appr 40 cm of water... I had 1 cm to go on my wellies before my feet would get very wet and cold indeed, so I proceeded with caution. Needless to say my feet got wet and cold anyhow, since the floor down there is a bit uneven. Oh well. Salvaged a cardboard box that had been on top of some other (by now soaked) boxes and managed to drag A's diving bag up the stairs, where it happily proceeded to spill out heaploads of water that soon wetted the whole of the entrance.

Long story short: they managed to cut the water supply to the broken pipe and the storage area is now, if not dry, at least more on the damp side, and we've managed to collect some other bits and bobs. Tomorrow they'll supply us with a container where we can get rid of all the destroyed stuff, but luckily we don't have too much of that. Worse for some of the others who had their storage spaces packed ceiling-high...

In every other way a very pleasant day. And my feet are warm again now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.