Meadow Pipit

A day of birds today! The greenfinches were back in the garden this morning and then when Ollie and I were up on the cliffs we put up a female hen harrier. She was so close, beautiful to see the detail on her feathers, I thought it was a short eared owl at first, a flurry of brown feathers but then I noticed her white rump.

Still up on the cliff path I spotted this little pipit. It very obligingly sat and waited while I took several shots of it!

Back home I refilled the bird feeders and sat down to watch them with my knitting and a cup of coffee. They descended en masse - 33 sparrows, three starlings, one blackbird and a collared dove! Lots of the sparrows were babies and stood there, underneath the feeders, getting showered by seeds, quivering their wings and with their beaks open hoping to be fed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.