Life of a bubble maker

By redditchrascal

Bond of Friendship

Early start this morning after a not so great nights sleep. I had to be down at the location for the Great North Swim for 8.30 go to through registration.
Met the others there around 8.45 after I had got changed. As I'm only doing the 1/2 mile swim so my start time was 9am, the others were in the first mile swim wave at 9.30.
AC had been roped in at the funeral of our friend Linda, as one of the V's couldn't make it. He had never done a mile swim before and never swam in open water.
While I got ready J, HC and AC went off to have an interview with Rebecca Adlington.
HC explained on the application form that she was doing the swim to raise money for the Brain Tumour Trust in Flip tops name. She also explained that she was afraid of water and really didn't like swimming or being in open water, however she had decided to do the swim for Flip Top. A true show of the bonds that friendship can create.
As a result they wanted to interview the three of them before the race.
I finished my race just in time to see them off. Managed the 1/2 mile in 17 minutes. Didn't like swimming on open water as the motion of swimming in a wetsuit and not having a bottom to focus on made me slightly seasick.
The brave trio finished in just under the hour. A great achievement.
Afterwards it was back to the B&B's to get changed before heading down into Ambleside for well earned fish and chips.
We left the others in the afternoon, as I needed to get to Keswick to register for my Sprint Triathlon tomorrow. Checked into the B&B before going off to drive the bike route for tomorrow. Found a nice big hill about half way through much like the one coming out of Linlithgow.
Had a nice meal in the Jungle Rooms before heading back to the B&B for an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.