out of the shadows

By MrsHart3

Father's Day....

I lost you before I really got to know you
There were too many mysteries and not enough explanations
Things were hidden and not talked about
A whole family I didn't get to know

But,
Because of you I love the smell of warm tomato plants in a greenhouse,
Big, beautiful chrysanthemums
And blousy red peonies

I remember, in the winter of 1962, you coming home at lunchtime and just getting inside the kitchen before the snow crashed through the conservatory roof.
I remember the sound of your shoes as we walked up the road
I remember helping you in the greenhouse
I remember sobbing when mum told me you'd died

I don't have a lot of memories
We didn't have time to make very many
But I remember that you loved me
And that's enough

Happy Father's Day Dad xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.