BoHingles Blips

By BoHingles

Blue Remembered Hills

Meet Danny Mason.

Today I had an early start so I could get over to Ludlow for 8:30am, this after staying up to watch England lose their first game of the World Cup....You can sleep when you're dead aye?!

I did the Shropshire Highlands challenge for what I'm sure was my 18th time this year, this event has run for the past 23 years. What a wonderful way to spend Father's Day with your old man doing the things you both like, like father like son. My dad does amaze me at the age of 67 holding his own doing 65 miles as if it's a walk in the park, cheers Dad and happy Father's Day.

After running a regular cycle road race around Ludlow in Shropshire, Danny (blipfoto) decided to turn it in to a reliability ride (what it is now), which means it's not a race but there are certain checkpoints to get to around the 65 mile course to complete.

Danny is 86 years young and is one of the most incredible characters I know.
He was married to a wonderful lady called Jean who sadly passed away a couple of years ago and he has been strong and carried on with living life to the full.

He was a paratrooper in the British army and was involved in the Battle of Arnhem during the Second World War, he still rides a bike and truly is a wonderful, warm, kind gentleman. I've been fortunate to know him almost all of my life through cycling from such a young age.

I was only talking to oldtownpaul on here just the other day about the over use of the world Legend, but I really can use it to describe Danny Mason.

Long live the Shropshire Highlands Challenge

Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.