Summer Evenings

I took this picture just because I could really. It was 9pm and still light, sunlight on the church walls, a balmy evening. A delight.

The Book Group I belong to meets in Penrith Library, which is just opposite the Parish Church. The church is actually part of our group, as the bell-ringers practise on the same night. So our discussions have a background of bells. It's not a problem, but it's very loud when we step outside. I drove home with a beautiful sky full of the last sunshine. Too early for a sunset though.

Don't you just love these summer evenings.

Just out of interest: I hadn't been to a book group meeting for a couple of months, with being away, and I realised last week that I didn't know which book we were reading. When I looked at the list, it was Jane Austen's Persuasion. I thought I had read this, but found a copy on the shelves and soon realised that I had not read it. I really enjoyed it, as did all the group, including the lady who had always said she couldn't read Austen. It was to make her read an Austen work that I think the book was chosen in the first place. It was Austen's last book and I think very different from all the others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.