As my mood grabs me...

By AlisonM

My arrangement....

Evening all....

Right - tonight you get to see the shambles that is my studio. Well more precisely my current setup for my water drops - I say current as I'm constantly experimenting but this seems to be working nicely for now.

I think it's actually all very self explanatory - I just use the onboard flash at the moment as I'm too impatient to wait for the flashgun to ready itself again. Ideally I'd have an off-camera flash slightly to one side but I'll get round to that eventually.

As you can see I have a plastic milk 'bottle' clamped to a stand - the stand is a needlepoint stand actually with the frame holding clamp removed and a bog-standard clamp attached in its place.

Stick a pinhole in the corner of the bottle at the bottom - add water - that's my little blue watering can behind the camera - and drip away. I place a battery in the water under the drop so that I can focus first - manual is essential of course - and adjust the amount of water in the bottle to allow it to flow faster or slower. One day I'll sort out a more sophisticated release mechanism but this does the job for now.

Any questions? :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.