Granny Annie

By grannyannie

House Martins.

Our daughter lives in a small village, Kibblesworth, on the outskirts of Gateshead. Every year the House Martins return and build their nests in the eaves of the houses on the hill. Each house has a number of nests.
Tonight we were baby sitting whilst she went to a meeting, and I was amazed at the speed in which the adult birds were feeding their young. They are always on the wing, swooping around, back and forwards to the nest.
This little bird was getting a good supply of insects, and seemed quite content, whilst in the nest next door were two young who couldn't keep still long enough for me to blip them. It isn't the best of blips, which I took from a small bathroom window, but I was happy to be able to get one that showed the young bird. I'll have to try again another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.