Life Uncommon

By lifeuncommon

Beauty

Busy, busy day, from the time our feet hit the cold wood floors this morning until we arrived home after work, school, and A's gymnastics class, with our bodies tired and our bellies grumbling. Ben was staying downtown late to have dinner with a friend, so the kids and I had a simple dinner, lit a fire, and then stayed near it together till their bedtime - A had to do some homework (due tomorrow), E spent time on his newest obsession (playing games on the PBS Kids web site), and I read a chapter or so in between offering homework guidance.

For one of the homework assignments A needed some "counters" so I pulled out a bag of smooth blue and brown glass stones leftover from my sister's wedding two summers ago. They did the trick to help A solve her math problems, and I was inspired to pour a handful into a glass vase, fill it with water, and add three floating candles I had sitting in a drawer. It's incredible how a small slice of beauty can add joy to a room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.