Caged Bird

When Noel asked if I wanted a quick run to Fara today, I agreed, though when I was on the water, I wanted to home again! Quite rough, but I enjoyed it in the end, we do have a very safe boat. As a gamekeeper, one of his not so pleasant jobs is capturing birds that are detrimental to the environment (and the grouse!) - some of these are hoodie crows. You need a special licence to be allowed to catch them here and I think it's sad because they are smart creatures.

Here's the last one that got into the Larsen trap. I like the reflection of the cage in his eye. This one will be fed and kept alive to attract more, which then won't be so lucky. I used to be a caged bird, but no longer! Maybe this guy will find his way out of the trap again like the last one did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.