philmorris

By philmorris

Duke End

Field edge, near Duke End, between Maxstoke and Coleshill, Warwickshire

About the Day
Took a third consecutive day off work today. Not good. I will be back at my desk on Monday with a weekend within which to prepare. Have gotten through a heck of a lot of beans on toast.

Spent much of the day pouring over camera website reviews. Anything half decent costs an arm and a leg with a suitable selection of lenses. And then I had this eureka moment when it dawned on me that I need not look at the latest models. In the past, I printed no larger than 10" by 10", so if I went through the back catalogue, I would find a full sensor camera which someone was prepared to lay off cheap. The Canon 5D Mk I body seemed to fit the bill admirably. With the EF lenses I already have, covering 20-300mm, I could be set up with my first DSLR for under £300. Seems to me like a no brainer.

After watching England permanently ejected from Brazil 2014 (who rated Costa Rica 28th in the world?), knowing I was pictureless, I drove out to the countryside with an eye out for a layby with nearby footpath. Driving out of Maxstoke in the direction of Coleshill, I took a left at Duke End into Arnolds Lane, a single lane road where I instantly found a place to pull in. Across the other side was Duke's Bridge, crossing the River Blythe. Descending to the river's edge, the way was tightly lined with brambles and stingers. I shot the bridge, but it resembled a recent post, so I headed back along Arnolds Lane in the direction of Maxstoke.

My GPS told me that where Arnold Lane made a sharp left turn, a path would send me towards a footbridge over the Blythe. So that was the way I went, though the stingers and brambles were as tough and high as before, with the added bonus of a soft and slithery surface. The bridge was serviceable but otherwise lacked merit. Planks for feet and what seemed like scaffolding poles for hands. I turned back and, making a detour, followed my way over a stile and into a field.

About the Blip
This is one view which presented itself, looking north west towards Duke End Farm.

In Other News
Fingers crossed for England tomorrow morning at Hamilton

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.