The Open Road

A lovely country lane not too far from us has been closed to traffic for months, on account of a fallen wall, so I thought I'd check it out today. I caught a bus to the far end, where it meets the Snake Pass, and walked back to a spot where I could catch another bus home - about 4 miles. It was a lovely walk, first with views to the South then later to the North. Lots of Swifts and Swallows, Rooks, Crows and Ravens and even a Buzzard. A few Orchids were blooming by the roadside and I found the tiniest Quaker Cemetery with just half a dozen graves. This evening I went out to look for Nightjars again and heard them churring and got some good views of them in the twilight. Sadly I can't see me ever getting a photo of them. that's why this Willow Warbler is pick of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.