mightyoak

By mightyoak

Fish outta water

Actually it's a moth (I think). As I'm clearly no expert I can't say what'll sit is, other than a rather beautiful kind, in its leaf like guise. Not that that was of any use in the corner of car park to an industrial building.
I should probably know more, as when we were kids, my brother, and occasionally me, would set a moth trap in the garden at night. A sort of squashed dustbin with a light bulb in the bottom and a some tights stretched around the rim and down towards the light, where there was a small hole to let them in but not out. So very cruel. Well,it needn't have been if we'd just counted the catch, photographed the different varieties etc...But no, they (the best specimens) were poisoned in jam jars, and pinned through their backs to a cork board. My brother would then type out their Latin and common names, and pin those beside the poor creatures. Never very good at remembering things like that, or perhaps I never saw one of these as it's usual habitat is more concrete and urban as opposed to the wilds of Suffolk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.