Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Day of Rest

Today was a day for pottering and taking it really easy in readiness for another full-on week at work.

Having gone down to the town centre after lunch for some groceries, I took full advantage of the Waitrose car park and went across to Lowndes Park for a pleasant half an hour or so with the ducks and geese. All those cute little goslings I blipped back in early May are quite grown up now and there was a whole platoon of Canada geese parading round the pond. I went to see the ducks on the other side, where they were all resting along the water's edge. This very laid-back little fellow in the photo didn't even bother to get up and waddle away when I approached, and let me take lots of pictures while he dozed with his beak nestled into his feathers.

After a quick top-up shop, I went home for a chat with Mum on the phone. She's much better than she was last weekend after the Meniere's attack, but still feels more dizzy than she did before she had it. That's the nature of this condition, sadly.

The sun set late, as I looked out at the peaceful valley below, listening to the trills and whistles of the Song Thrush, the last bird to sing at dusk before bedtime.

PS: Here's a selection of photos from my midsummer weekend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.