CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Hive Beach, Burton Bradstock, nr. Bridport, Dorset

I woke early at Patrick's cottage with the nesting birds in the thatch roof singing brightly at dawn. I ended up snoozing till nine am and then on getting up and finding a hot sunny day ahead, decided to go for a walk to the wooded area of the river where I knew the kingfishers nested. I crossed the fields with young calves and then another with ewes and lambs and finding it hard going through the long grass whilst being buzzed by horse flies. Luckily I had brought long sleeved fleece and stayed didn't get stung but was rather over heated instead.

In the woods I found a spot opposite the holes which the kingfishers use for nests and waited, and waited and waited. I saw a couple of woodland birds and just one wagtail standing on the stony beach in on the inside of the meander in the river. I persevered for nearly an hour then gave up and walked further upstream to see the new building works that the river authority had started to create a fish run past a high weir. Patrick had said that it would allow the salmon to go far upstream to spawn. Then I crossed the meadows to Nunnery Mead where the remains of a Roman building was found close to the river, in what is now a nature reserve.

By the time I had returned and had strong coffee and some breakfast, Patrick was ready to go on one of our regular jaunts to the beach. He suggested three places and I chose Hive beach which is about fifteen miles from his home. Getting there entailed roaming along cross country lanes and not having to follow the rather busy main roads that the tourists use (I am not a tourist of course!). Being a National Trust member we could park for free right by the National Trust cafe just beside the beach. We only to stroll a hundred yards further to lie on the shingle. I walked on further to take some pictures while Patrick sunbathed and then went for a swim, something I am seldom found doing in British waters (far too cold for my old bones usually).

I took this picture looking further west towards Golden Cap, the highest flat peak you can see in the distance, where the coastline begins to turn south-westwards, as it approaches Lyme Regis. In the other direction looking east, you can see the start of the Jurassic coast of various strata of limestone which begin to outcrop here. In the distance the long mass of Chesil Beach peters out where it meets the cliffs. I have added some other pictures to this Flickr Gallery which shows that view.

We returned fairly early as Patrick needed to go to a friend's book launch in Bridport, but he was able to get back home in time for the fatal England match against Uruguay which sealed our fate, sadly. While he was away I went for another walk to a second bridge over the river Frome near to Southover which was also delightfully quiet, peaceful and enchanting. I do love this part of Dorset which has retained the essential charm of of the countryside, which Thomas Hardy described so well in his books most of which were set not far from here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.