58° North Daily

By 58NorthPhoto

A song of land, held in mind

I nipped into An Lanntair this afternoon after my tutoring to see to the Fonn exhibition by Mary Morrison before it ends tomorrow. The blip is the wall outside the main exhibition. Lovely paintings, but way beyond my means at the moment!

The exhibition booklet contains a poem - Lewis by Iain Crichton, I'm not a big poetry fan, but I quite like this:

‘It follows me, that black island without ornament,
Which I am always questioning….
Sea, immortal waters, you are the harmony around us forever.
We exist in your music,
In your blizzard of white gulls….

Wherever I am, you are with me,
My music is the music of your stones, …
You are the book which I always study
In sunsets over the Minch,
You are my gaunt theme, my poem which burns in water.’

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.