Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Trinity

I was observing the street from the 3rd floor of a parking deck today and spotted a frail looking man slowly shuffling along with a cane. Unsteady and stopping frequently, I watched as a guy delivering packages to a nearby store nearly ran right into the old man. I took a few shots and then went down to talk with him. Very much to my surprise, it was Paul, whom I have blipped on several occasions before. Here. And also Here.

We talked for a while. His legs are not well for some unknown reason and he's in severe pain. Paul can only get around the block once per day now. With no money and no healthcare, he's left to suffer at the mission shelter and can only hope that the pain will subside.

Although I don't have any solutions, I wonder what else this great country could/should be doing to help the thousands of people in our communities like Paul, a man who has worked hard his entire life. I'm sincerely interested in hearing your ideas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.