A grateful pilgrim

Yesterday, 3k from my destination of santo Domingo, I realized that my camera had fallen out of a small pocket. Having walked 150 k over the last 4 days and not taken a picture in over 10k, retracing my steps was not an option. I hobbled into town, a gentle rain starting, feeling slightly defeated. All of those pictures from the Pyrenees were gone. Sigh. Exhausted, I passed by the alburgue and checked into a hotel for a good night's rest. I left town this morning, after a rare sit down breakfast, several hours later than my normal time and stopped at the first village I passed, granon. Rather than drink my espresso at the bar, I took it to a table outside. As a small group chatted and as I was getting ready to leave, a couple approached me and asked if I was missing a camera. They had been looking for me (the benefits of wearing the same clothing). A small miracle and one that I will remember for a long time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.