granpabear

By granpabear

THE HILL

Everyone used to call it The Hill. Beside the town of Mt. Angel, where I grew up, stands this hill. Upon the hill is a Benedictine abbey. German monks founded it, I think, before the town was there. While I grew up, the town was at least ninety-five percent Catholic. Our high school was run by the monks. This is where all of the money that we made during the summer went. And yes, we had discipline. After high school I went to a junior college in Washington State. After life in Mt. Angel the people on the outside kinda scared me. So, I spent my sophomore and half of my junior year on this hill studying to be a Catholic priest. It wasn't for me, but it wasn't a waste. But now I wouldn't have a thing to do with that place, or those people. I guess life changes you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.