Cape Gooseberry or Physalis

I know this as a Cape Gooseberry and it is sold in the UK as Physalis.

I purloined this one from a friend's fruit bowl, not for eating but for this image.
No doubt I shall eat it it too.

As usual I am indebted to Wiki for this information

Physalis peruviana (physalis = bladder) is the plant and its fruit, also known as Cape gooseberry (South Africa), Inca berry, Aztec berry, golden berry, giant ground cherry, Peruvian groundcherry, Peruvian cherry, pok pok (Madagascar), poha (Hawaii), ras bhari (India), aguaymanto (Peru), uvilla (Ecuador), uchuva (Colombia), harankash (Egypt), Love in a cage (France), and sometimes simply Physalis (United Kingdom).

It is indigenous to South America, but has been cultivated in England since the late 18th century and in South Africa in the region of the Cape of Good Hope

You can read more here

Interestingly, it is related to a tomatillo, which I had never heard of, until RaspberryJefe referred to it in my entry of a Tamarillo two days ago

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.