Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

What goes up...

... Stays up, apparently.

Well, what an interesting day.
(Not That interesting, just a 'you live and learn' day).
We have been invited to a 'white tie' do.
I've known about it for ages, and (typical) assumed my old evening dress would do.
Never having been to a One Of These events before, I simply assumed the stuff that was different was for the men (erm, white tie not black?).
Well...
It seems that white evening gloves are on the agenda for ladies.
(19'' if the dress has a cap sleeve, and 22'' inches if it's off the shoulder.
Who knew??).
I have purchased my white evening gloves.
I tried them on this morning after my shower.
Now here's the thing...I've always avoided white shoes, owing to agreeing with my Mum, who said, 'they tend to make your feet look big'.
And guess what?
White gloves make your hands look ENORMOUS.
And arms!

(Admittedly they might look marginally better with other clothes on too).

I read up on the etiquette of wearing them, and one must leave them on to shake hands, and NOT apologise for not removing them.
Also, it is suggested you remove one for eating canapes, and both for eating dinner.
Buuut... 'Do not remove them in the style of a burlesque artiste'.
There's the rub...
I simply cannot think of another way, and I've tried :-)

(Again, this might be easier when I'm fully clothed).

Also, the dress is blue.

I'm going to look like a nurse on Emergency Ward 10.

(And don't even start me on 'this old shawl will be ok').


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.