Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

J for June - Jaune

Yorkshire has turned yellow for the Tour de France.

The route passes 300 metres from my house, and so all the local shops and businesses have made a huge effort to decorate in yellow. There must not be a can of yellow spray paint, nor an old bicycle left in a garage anywhere - there are vélos jaunes of all descriptions in shop windows, suspended from buildings and trees, and propped up outside front doors.

The charity shop, the cafe, the opticians, the bookshop, the butcher, the baker and the candlestick maker all have cycling displays. So, I thought I would wander to the local cycle shop, virtually on the race route, surely this would be the display to end all displays?

This is what I found. A tad understated you might say.

(I have blurred out the name to save embarrassment - I doubt he cares though).

A song. I despise Coldplay with a passion, so even if they were called Joldplay their horrid yellow song wouldn't get a look in. This is obvious, but it does at least come from an album that starts with a J.

Happy Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.