around here somewhere

By thehammerton

Lost count

A pickled vampire - one of the specimens in the excellent Spirit Room section of the Darwin Centre at the Natural History Museum. I didn't know about it, or the behind the scenes tour, which is free and I'd really recommend, with highlights including a whole giant squid, a coelacanth and some of Darwin's original specimens from the Beagle.

As the NHM has always been a place I hold in high regard I feel saddened, and slightly treacherous, to say that the dinosaur section is really not good enough; the room feels cramped and cluttered and much like a building site, and it is difficult to appreciate the dinosaurs and very difficult to get a good photo of them between the cables and wires and in the bad lighting. I just needed to get that off my chest..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.