jillington

By jillington

Catalpa trees

About 15 years ago a kid who lives at our lake sold us some "Catalpa worms" that he had collected off the local Catalpa tree. We caught fish like crazy with those "worms". So when we moved down here to the farm I took some Catalpa seed pods off the tree in front of Joel's best friend's condo and brought them with. I let them freeze over winter and then planted them in the spring. These four trees are successfully growing and, this year, even flowered so I assume there will be new pods in the fall. In the mean time, I collected pods last year from the tree at the lake and will plant those seeds tomorrow. I thought it might be a good idea to get some fresh dna. I'm hoping to plant a few more to replace the poplars that I planted in the north tree line that barely grew at all. I planted 80 of which only two have matured. The rest are still 3 feet or less or, worse, dead.

PS: Yes, that is the over grown field that should have gotten mowed today. It rained so I baked bread and cookies instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.